Quick Tip: Have Guests

Leave a comment

If you’re anything like me, your house does not (ever) look like it belongs on the cover of a magazine.

With three kids, as soon as things are put away, they are dragged right back out. Toys have boxes, but seem to remain perpetually scattered between the kids’ room and the living room. Half colored papers and junk mail litter the table until dinner time and then are pushed… OK, I’ll spare you more details about the usual sorry state of my house!

The fastest way to get my house in order is to be expecting company. If someone’s coming over for dinner or tea, things shape up pretty quickly! Papers find the trash can or get filed away, laundry gets folded and leaves the couch, the toys migrate back to their homes. Sometimes a candle gets lit and fresh flowers appear on the table. It’s enjoyable to clean up my house with a purpose– guests are coming! (Bonus: I get to enjoy it too!)

Not that this is my only motivation for picking up, but it sure helps! So if your home is in need of a little TLC, try it– invite someone over and enjoy the results!

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

Leave a Reply

