Wisdom

2 Comments

Praying for wisdom is not a new thing for me.  In fact, during my motherhood journey, I find myself praying for wisdom at least a few times each week.  Lately though, it feels like I am begging God for wisdom in so many areas, on so many matters, every single day.  Sometimes that’s all I can eek out in prayer, “Lord, please give me wisdom…”

Are you in need of wisdom today?

…the fear of the Lord, that is wisdom,
and to turn away from evil is understanding. {Job 28:28}

The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom; all those who practice it have a good understanding. {Psalm 111:10}

Behold, you delight in truth in the inward being, and you teach me wisdom in the secret heart. {Psalm 51:6}

So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom. {Psalm 90:12}

For the LORD gives wisdom;
from his mouth come knowledge and understanding;
he stores up sound wisdom for the upright;
he is a shield to those who walk in integrity… {Proverbs 2:6-7}

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. {James 1:5}

So:

  • If I need wisdom, I need to begin by fearing the Lord, and having a correct view of myself.
  • Wisdom is the Lord’s to give.
  • I can gain wisdom by asking of the Lord (without doubting).

 

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

2 thoughts on “Wisdom

  1. God’s word is true. James 1v5 promises wisdom to all who ask God and I know He has done this for me in my life. I know He will do it for you too!

    Even the fact that you are asking for wisdom shows wisdom 🙂

Leave a Reply

