DIY: Tag Blanket

3 Comments

Each of my kids have a special “lovey”.  The thing they sleep with, take most everywhere, and calm down with.  It was especially helpful to have a lovey when we spent eight weeks in training for our current job and Ladybug and Stinkbug went to the nursery everyday.  They did much better without mommy around when they had their special thing with them!

Doodlebug has a soft little bear and a funny stuffed monkey and I thought one of them might become his special lovey.  Lately though, I’ve watched him grasp burp cloths and blankets draped on his lap and bring them to his face.  It seems he’s a blankie guy!

I looked around online and decided I could undertake the project of making him a little blankie with taggie ribbons– maybe this will become his extra special lovey!

Note: I do not have a sewing machine, so all the sewing was done by hand, and I completed the project in about an hour and a half.  Trust me, if I could make this, almost any human being could– I’m not a great seamstress!

I had a soft, flannel receiving blanket at my house– one of those really thin ones.  (I have had this particular blanket since Ladybug was born and decided to use it since I love the dot pattern and wouldn’t have to buy new material!)

I purchased a few feet of satin ribbon in varying colors and widths to make the tags.  In all, I spent about two dollars on ribbon.  I did not add as many ribbon tags as my tutorial suggested, I like how mine turned out though!

I followed the directions I found at Chica and Jo.  (I appreciated the pictures they included!)

And I did it!  I wanted to dance like Dora when I was done– I did it!  I did it!  I did it! Yea! It feels really good to make something by hand!  And it was pretty stress-relieving to sit and sew while the kids played one evening.

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

3 thoughts on “DIY: Tag Blanket

  1. Good for you! Very nice! It feels SO good to make something for your child!

  2. this looks great Sheila!!! Awesome job.

  3. Awwww! So precious! It looks so soft and cuddly. You are so talented!
    Ahhh, I remember those days. My son was the only one of my children that had a special “lovey”. It was a little pillow that matched his crib bedding. He picked at it while snuggling and gradually the seams were shot, the ruffled edges fell off, and the stuffing came out. All he carried around was a ratty 12″ square piece of blue and white fabric that he called “rowdy” (his way of saying lovey). It’s in his keepsake bin now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

