One Foot In Front…

3 Comments

…of the other.

Each stage of parenthood seems a bit daunting at first. I remember before Ladybug was potty trained, fretting about how to do it and if she would ever use the potty on her own. Back up just a little and I was worrying about giving her solids– what to start with, how much to give, when to offer it… Then it was getting rid of the pacifier. Should we bribe her? Should I reason with her? Will she take the pacifier to kindergarten?

Each time, with a little prayer and a lot of patience, everything has worked out just fine.  She ate solids (and loved every bite!) and moved onto feeding herself eventually.  She dumped the pacifier when she chewed a hole in it and didn’t like it anymore.  She just started peeing and pooping in the potty one day, and never looked back.

I find myself even now worrying about the next thing.  Living overseas puts me in the position of needing to teach my children.  I actually have a degree in elementary education, so no sweat right?

Wrong.  I find myself pouring over curriculum reviews, wondering which letter I should teach first.  Wondering if it will be better to do home school in the morning or the evening…

Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaait a minute!  Isn’t Ladybug three years old?  Why, yes, that’s right.  She’s only three years old.

How quickly I let my mind run wild and without seeking the Lord first, I’m sprinting ahead wondering how I will do this, and when I will accomplish that.  Like I’m some sort of superwoman mom.

Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight. (Proverbs 3:5-6)

It’s so easy to do.  To operate out of our own strength. To work from a sense of guilt we have as moms– Suzie Q posted on Facebook that her two-year old knows all her letters already!  Cindy Lou‘s new baby is already saying seventeen words and knows sign language!— a need to keep up, a need to do better, a need to perform well.  To not trust in the Lord with all our heart.  To lean on our own understanding.

As moms, we need to be spending time with the Lord daily.  Pouring out of fears, frustrations, hopes, dreams.  Asking for His divine wisdom.  Trusting for Him to create a path for us to walk down.  Knowing He will meet our needs as moms– whether our need is potty training a two-year old, or teaching a sixteen year old how to drive.

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

3 thoughts on “One Foot In Front…

  1. Amen friend!

  2. Good post – having some similar convictions here!! 🙂

  3. I really liked your post today. Made me remember that key verse in light of all that I have going on too. Most things don’t have to be done as quickly or as wonderfully as I think they do. God always provides a way, we just have to be willing to listen, and that’s where spending time with him comes in. Thanks, now going to be with God this morning.

Leave a Reply

