Packing Your Bags for L&D

1 Comment

I shared with you, what new babies need in terms of stuff, but I wanted to back up a little bit.  When I was preparing to have Ladybug, I started packing my hospital bag.  But I wasn’t quite sure what to put in my hospital bag.  I remember asking friends what I should bring, and getting some great tips.  After three hospital stays to birth babies, here are my tips for packing your bags for Labor and Delivery and Postpartum.

  • Pack one bag for labor and a separate bag for after delivery. This will make it easier for you (or someone else) to quickly get the things you want/need during labor.  For your “labor bag” you might want to consider packing: chapstick, an ipod, your own pillow, movies or magazines, tennis balls (I’ve heard they help with back labor)…
  • Pack your own clothes for after the birth. With Ladybug, I stayed in a grungy hospital gown, because I wasn’t sure if I could/should change.  With Stinkbug, I brought my own nightgowns for after the birth and it made a world of difference in how I felt!  With Doodlebug, I had an Annie & Isabel hospital gown, and it was amazing!  It was so nice to have the convenience of a hospital gown (snaps for nursing, easy lift up for checks and going to the bathroom), but to feel pretty and know I was the only one who had worn this gown!  You might also want: sports or sleep bras, socks, slippers, a robe or sweater for hallway walking, and a going home outfit (remember your belly will still pooch after baby is born, bring something roomy and comfy to travel home in!)
  • Bring your toiletries. Toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, body wash, deodorant, hair spray, make-up… I also brought a hair dryer to help me look more human in the postpartum pictures.
  • Bring all your electronics (and other things to do)— don’t forget the camera, video camera, laptop, cell phone and all the proper cords and memory cards.  (I got pretty bored just lying around with a sleeping baby and only nursing every so often when he woke up, so I fiddled on Facebook and Twitter, uploaded my pictures, emailed, and watched movies on the laptop with Hubby.  It was also nice to have a magazine and book handy.)
  • Pack Some Baby Stuff. You probably want to check with friends who delivered in your same hospital or just ask when you take a hospital tour before the birth– what do I need to bring for my baby? I brought clothes, hats, and socks for my babies to wear in the hospital, my own swaddling blankets, and when Doodlebug was born, I even needed my own diapers and wipes.  Other baby things you might want? Boppy, burp cloths, mittens, going home outfit.

So, what would you suggest a mom-to-be pack in her hospital bag?

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

One thought on “Packing Your Bags for L&D

  1. Did you mention a notebook? A notebook is great for jotting down ideas, questions, and thoughts you might have!

Leave a Reply

