Raising Siblings

2 Comments

I have three very young children.  This brings all sorts of challenges to motherhood for me: having two kids in diapers, not having enough hands for everyone to hold, having a diaper bag the size of a suitcase to tote around, mealtimes are very messy, runny noses and colds are shared like everything else, and someone is always sick it seems…

But one of the best parts of having multiple small kids is watching the bond they develop as close-in-age siblings.

Truly, what a blessing they have in the gift of a constant playmate, roommate, friend, confidant, partner in crime.

A lot of times the only context in which we hear “sibling” is “sibling rivalry”.  So often, society plays up the negative aspects of having more than one child.  Yes, it’s hard (see first paragraph!), but it’s worth it to watch my children loving, supporting, helping, encouraging, and challenging one another.

As much as I enjoy seeing the siblings interact today, I can’t wait to watch their love and care for one another grow and change as they grow and change.

Before Stinkbug was born, I prayed diligently that Ladybug would welcome him lovingly.  I prayed that God would help them to be great friends all their lives, and I prayed against jealousy and bitterness in their relationship.  I have spent the last few months praying the same things for Ladybug and Stinkbug as we awaited Doodlebug.  So far, so good!  If you don’t already, I encourage you to pray regularly for your kids’ relationships with one another!

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

2 thoughts on “Raising Siblings

  1. This is a great article. My sister and I are 24months apart. I used to tag along with her everywhere she went. Sometimes she’d be a loving big sister and sometimes she would be hateful and impatient. Our bond has changed over the years. Sometimes we’re close and at other times we aren’t on speaking terms. The salvation is that we both know that we love each other and no one better question that or they’ll be hell to pay.

Leave a Reply

