“The Family”

2 Comments

Being a mother has got to be the most frustrating job in the world because the job is never finished.  Dishes, laundry, meal prep, grocery shopping… disciplining, teaching, correcting, training… advising, coaching, helping, encouraging… As long as we live, we will always have something to do as mothers.

Right now, I am in the early stages of motherhood (pregnancy, child-bearing, breastfeeding, diapering, teaching, modeling, entertaining, disciplining)  and it’s so redundant some days!  Get up, feed baby, eat breakfast, dress everyone, dress myself, prepare a snack, do some housework, feed baby, fix lunch, change diapers, lay everyone down for a nap, start dinner, feed baby, change diapers, keep the peace until Daddy comes home, cook dinner… Sometimes it feels like all I do is fix food and change diapers!

In the trenches of early motherhood, we can easily lose sight of why we’re doing what we’re doing.  Poopy diapers and goldfish crackers can seem very insignificant when we aren’t seeing them with the right perspective.  Recently, I read a prayer entitled “The Family” in Valley of Vision, which is a collection of puritan prayers (and they are amazing!  I love using this book during my prayer times with the Lord!)  Here’s the part of the prayer that whacked me in the face and brought better perspective to my cloudy eyes!

Sanctify and prosper my domestic devotion,
instruction, discipline, example,
that my house may be a nursery for heaven,
my church the garden of the Lord,
enriched with trees of righteousness of thy planting,
for thy glory…

{Valley of Vision}

Wow!  After reading that (about ten times in a row), it wasn’t just poopy diapers and goldfish crackers anymore! As I thought about my house being a nursery for heaven, my once cloudy eyes teared up.  What an amazingly high calling! To diaper and feed these babies and prepare them for Heaven!  I am keeping the nursery right now and teaching the babies all about God, so that when He calls to them one day, they will be able to recognize His voice and answer His call.

If you’re where I am today– in the thick of sticky hands, runny noses and spilled milk– I encourage you to look around your nursery for heaven and thank the Lord for the opportunity to work there.

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

2 thoughts on ““The Family”

  1. My grandchildren are blessed – God chose you to be their mother.

Leave a Reply

