DIY: Family Cup Holder

2 Comments

I read this idea on some blog somewhere some time ago… Maybe it was at Making Home?  Anyhow, the idea was to create less dishes on a daily basis by helping family members keep track of their cup.  If everyone used only one cup per day, the sink (or dishwasher) would be noticeably less full!  (And mommy’s workload would be a little bit less– hooray!)

So, the idea is very simple.  I took a wooden cutting board and traced around the rim of a cup with a Sharpie to create six circles.  (I made each of my circles different colors, so family members who cannot read their name yet, can just remember which color their circle is.)  I wrote each family member’s name in a circle.

When we are done using a cup, instead of tossing it in the sink or the dishwasher, we will place it on our designated circle.  Then, when we want another drink, we’ll already have a cup available.

(All of the sudden under flash, my cutting board looks awful!  Sorry, it is clean, I promise!)

I explained the idea to Hubby and the kids, and wahlaaaa! Now we will each only dirty one cup per day!

It’s so easy, you could do it yourself!

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

2 thoughts on “DIY: Family Cup Holder

  1. Great idea! I’m the world’s worse at losing track of my cup! Now does Jackson put his cup on his spot? That’s amazing! 😉

Leave a Reply

