Struggling Well

4 Comments

There is a reason I’ve been absent from My Busy Home for over a month.  A few reasons, actually.  My husband and I welcomed our third child, Doodlebug, into our family on October 7.  Since Hubby has started a full-time language study program at a local university, I was pretty quickly tossed into a world of caring for three children, and balancing the other aspects of a homemaker’s job: laundry, cooking, cleaning…

I love it.  I really do.  But it’s not easy.  (Especially since my husband and I moved overseas last October.)

Since having Doodlebug, I have felt the deep depths of culture stress way more than I had during the past year of living in Central Asia.  I’m sure the cocktail of culture stress and postpartum hormones is enough to whack anyone out.  It sure got me. Is getting me.

It’s hard.  Not just for me.  Not just for moms in America.  Not just for 20-somethings.  Not just for women living overseas.  We all have struggles and bad bouts and troubles and sins.

As I sat talking with a friend last week, admitting my guilt over despising this place and these people, lamenting my inability to speak and understand the language, and bemoaning my irritations with the way things work here, I heard the whispered voice of another friend.  Words spoken to me before our big move…“Everyone struggles.  You will struggle.  The important thing is to struggle well.”

*gasp*

You mean it’s OK that some days I feel like crawling back into bed and pulling up the covers because it’s too hard to get the kids dressed, go to the grocery store, and fix a healthy, balanced dinner by five’o’clock when Hubby gets home?

So, every mom has days when their kids are driving them nuts fighting and squabbling and yelling and running and making messes, and they dream of a night away in peace and quiet?

I’m not the only one who questions where God has me and wonders why He put me where He did with whom He did to do what He asked me to…?

It.is.not.easy.  This job, this life, this walk, this calling.  None of it is easy.  And that’s OK.

If I’ve learned anything in my absence from blogging this month, it’s that:

1. We need each other. Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ. Galatians 6:2

2. We need to be honest and transparent with each other. Therefore, confess your sins to one another and pray for one another, that you may be healed. James 5:16

3. We will struggle. And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you. 1 Peter 5:10

4. We need to fight to struggle well. Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might.  Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. Ephesians 6:10-11

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

4 thoughts on “Struggling Well

  1. This is a beautiful post and such a great reminder. I have days that I just want to crawl in a hole and never come out. I tend to give in to the temptation to become bitchy mama when I feel that way, but I need to remember these simple truths. “Struggling well” really articulates our calling, doesn’t it?

  2. I can soooo relate to this post sheila!. Thanks for being so transparent about it. A while back I found this blog post that really gave me some perspective:http://www.girltalkhome.com/blog/talking-to-your-tears. Praying for you, as I pray for me too. May we struggle well!

Leave a Reply

