New Seasons

Leave a comment

Life is filled with seasons and seasons changing.

Off to college, being engaged, getting married, pregnancy, toddler-hood, adjusting to two children, preschooler-dom… it feels like there’s always something new going on in our family.

Today we began a new season, “Ladybug Goes to Preschool”.  I know I’ve written about preschool home-school, and I plan to continue preschooling Ladybug and Stinkbug at home, but we have decided to send Ladybug to a local preschool four mornings a week in order for her to learn the local language (we are expats) and make local friends.

I can’t describe to you the roller coaster my heart has been on since we picked a little preschool and started making preparations for Ladybug to go.  Crayons, markers, paints, paper, extra clothes, paper towels, scissors… we checked all the items off the school supply list.  Address, telephone number, doctor’s name, emergency contact… we filled out the required paperwork.  But my heart screamed She’s just a baby!  Are we doing the right thing?  Won’t she miss being with her mommy?   Am I making a huge mistake?

As I prayed and journal-ed my heart to the Lord about sending Ladybug to preschool, I found myself reading 1 Samuel 1– Hannah’s journey to become a mother.  Verses 27 and 28 leaped off the page at me:

For this child I prayed, and the LORD has granted me my petition that I made to him.

Therefore I have lent him to the LORD. As long as he lives, he is lent to the LORD.

Before Ladybug was born, I prayed for her.  I surrendered her to the Lord.  When she was in my belly, kicking and rolling and growing, I prayed for her.  I gave her over to my Heavenly Father.  When she was days old and we were figuring each other out, I prayed for her.  I let Jesus know she was His.  When she began sitting, crawling, eating solids, walking, I prayed for her during each new phase–gently committing her to the Lord each day and asking Him to be prevalent in her life.

And as I baked her muffins this morning (chocolate chip– her request), as I put pigtails and bows in her hair, as I packed her backpack and as I walked her to school, I was again committing her to the Lord and asking Him to be prevalent in her life.

For now, Ladybug will attend preschool four mornings a week.  We feel confident that the Lord has asked us to send her right now during this season.  It’s a new season, but I think it’ll be a good one.

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

Leave a Reply

