Traveling (Again) with Littles

2 Comments

Well, twenty days after our transatlantic flight, we suited up to do it again.  With an infant ticket not purchased in advance, bags overweight with American goods, our first flight delayed an hour, getting onto the second flight mere minutes taking off, and now jet lagged kids at home (OK, OK all of us are a tad jet lagged!)– this time around was not as smooth!

But we made it and God is still good.  And as of yet I have not lost my mind (although the fact that I’m writing this post at 2am might signal that the end is near!)

Here are some of my good, old-fashioned, practical tips for traveling with wee ones:

  • Potty everyone at the same time.  If one of you needs to go, everyone else needs to try too.
  • Stash plastic bags in a handy place.  And ditch the cloth diapers for travel.  Really, it’s OK to use disposables so you can dispose of any unpleasantness.  And believe you me, unpleasantness will occur.
  • Have a pad of Post It notes in your purse.  The automatic flushers in the airports freaked Ladybug out and I wished I had a Post It to stick over the sensor each time to hold off the flushing until she was done.
  • Pack more stuff than you need.  It’s better to have a book that never gets colored, or a DVD that never gets watched than to be without in a moment of need.  Try not to go overboard, but be realistic when preparing snacks and activities.
  • Tell your kids you’re proud of them.  If they’re doing a great job riding in the car or playing quietly in the airport, praise them!
  • Pack yourself some chocolate.  Make sure it’s the good stuff.  And don’t share if you don’t want to.
  • If you end up with jet lagers at 2am like me, invite them into your bed and hold them tight.  Breathe in that baby shampoo and toddler breath and remember that these days won’t last forever…
Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

2 thoughts on “Traveling (Again) with Littles

  1. “unpleasantness will occur” ….love it! Also, cool post it note idea.

    I have been missing your posts and had already predicted that your first one back would be about travel again!

    I hate we only saw you for a short time, but I’m so glad we got to see you. I hope the time with your family and friends filled you up for your trip back overseas. Love you!

Leave a Reply

