Putting On

1 Comment

Every morning (and by morning, I just mean before I leave the house which is sometimes not until 2pm… or 4pm), I grab my vibrant orange Clinique bag (it was a hand-me-down) and sit in front of the mirror to put on my make-up.  Ladybug has make-up radar and as soon as I plop down, she appears to help me get ready for the day.  I let her put on a little sparkly chap-stick and she pretends to curl her eyelashes– truly, these are moments I treasure.

But I want my daughter to learn to put on more than make-up from me…

But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to gratify its desires. (Romans 13:14)

put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness. (Ephesians 4:24)

Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. (Ephesians 6:11)

Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive. (Colossians 3:12-13)

So often, as a sinner, I fall short.  As a mother my failings hurt even more because I know my little girl is watching me, her mother, sin before a mighty God.  I pray that as I daily let Him restore, forgive, and redeem me, that she sees something she would like to become.  That my walk with Christ– my putting on Christ, the new self, the armor of God, a compassionate heart, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, makes her long to put these same things on every day of her life.  Even more than she wants to put on my sparkly chap-stick.

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

One thought on “Putting On

  1. Adorable and touching and so true! Aside…I call my girl Ladybug too!

Leave a Reply

