Shrub vs. Tree

1 Comment

5 Thus says the LORD: “Cursed is the man who trusts in man
and makes flesh his strength,
whose heart turns away from the LORD.
6 He is like a shrub in the desert,
and shall not see any good come.
He shall dwell in the parched places of the wilderness,
in an uninhabited salt land.

Photo by Jeremy Walker

7Blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD,
whose trust is the LORD.
8 He is like a tree planted by water,
that sends out its roots by the stream,
and does not fear when heat comes,
for its leaves remain green,
and is not anxious in the year of drought,
for it does not cease to bear fruit.”

Jeremiah 17

It kind of seems like an unfair comparison– a shrub in a desert or a tree planted by water. Well, which would you rather be? Of course I want to be the tree, but often times I admit that my full trust is not in the Lord, which according to Jeremiah 17 makes me a shrub in the desert wilderness.

You see, God gave me this really amazing man to call husband. He’s young and healthy and handsome and smart and can fix anything from hurt feelings to hang nails to broken furniture. It’s not hard to let my trust be in him. It’s very easy to let him be my strength.  But he’s not always going to be young and healthy and dependable.  (I’m sure he’ll always be handsome though!)

So often when I have a problem or a question, I find myself in front of Hubby asking for help. Not necessarily a bad thing since God did bless me with a godly husband, but God didn’t give me a godly husband to replace Him in my life. God doesn’t give us any of the good gifts He gives us with the intent to have Himself replaced in our hearts. Nice houses, good jobs, stable families, godly husbands, adorable children, bible-teaching churches– none of these are supposed to hold our trust or be our strength.

The only way I can flourish like an awesome tree, have deep roots that stay well-fed, not fear when it’s hot and dry (how appropriate in the heat of summer!), keep my leaves green, not be anxious for hard times, and continuously bear fruit is to have my trust in the Lord.

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

One thought on “Shrub vs. Tree

  1. Wonderful truth. I found a similar truth when I lost my father and had to learn to turn to my Heavenly Father instead.

Leave a Reply

