Kissing Boo Boos

Leave a comment

Stinkbug gets hurt a lot.  What eighteen month old boy doesn’t? Whenever he smashes a finger or bumps his leg or bangs his head, the offended body part gets held straight up in the air and he looks around for his mommy or daddy. Once we’re located, he rushes full-speed-ahead to us (which is quite tough when it’s a knee or a toe that’s had a run-in with disaster!) to get a kiss.  (And if we’re both in the room, the ow-ie needs a kiss from daddy and mommy.)

Stinkbug's Ow-ie Eye

Usually when I fall down and skin my spirit, or am emotionally wounded, I don’t high-tail it to my Heavenly Daddy, although I should.

For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need. (Hebrews 4:15-16)

With as much confidence as Stinkbug runs to me and expects me to kiss it and make it all better, I should be willing to leap in front of my Father’s throne and ask Him to make it better.

In the past three years, parenting has regularly helped me realize spiritual truth in new light, and Stinkbug’s boo boos are no different.

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

Leave a Reply

