Yet I will rejoice

6 Comments

As women, we often let our circumstances enhance or hinder our joy.  Good report from doctor, kids behaving, vacation coming up?  Feeling joyful. Fight with husband, kids sick, finances in shambles?  Not feeling joyful.

True joy only comes from one place: the presence of God.  You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore. (Psalm 16:11)

Spending time in the Lord’s presence each day is so important, so we can find our joy in Him.  As busy wives and moms, sometimes it doesn’t seem like there are enough hours in the day, it’s easy to think I can’t get everything done, of course I don’t have time to read the Bible and pray! But if we are to be genuinely joyful, we cannot forsake our time with the Lord!

One of my favorite (obscure) passages from the Bible encourages us to be joyful in the Lord no matter what circumstances we find ourselves in.

Though the fig tree should not blossom,
nor fruit be on the vines,
the produce of the olive fail
and the fields yield no food,
the flock be cut off from the fold
and there be no herd in the stalls,
yet I will rejoice in the LORD;
I will take joy in the God of my salvation.

(Habakkuk 3:17-18)

Isn’t it beautiful?  I could sum it up in ten words: No matter what, yet I will rejoice in the Lord!

Of course, it might not strike you right away.  Here, let me help… What if it read:

  • Though my husband can’t find a job,
  • Though our house won’t sell,
  • Though my mom remains in the hospital,
  • Though my children are throwing up,
  • Though my womb remains empty,
  • Though we can’t make ends meet each month,
  • Though the cancer is stage four…

yet I will rejoice in the LORD;
I will take joy in the God of my salvation.

Or maybe if it read:

  • Though my husband got the promotion,
  • Though the kids are listening and obeying,
  • Though the laundry is all done,
  • Though the pregnancy test is positive,
  • Though the doctor’s report is good,
  • Though there is extra money at the end of the month,
  • Though things couldn’t seem better,

yet I will rejoice in the LORD;
I will take joy in the God of my salvation.

No matter what, yet I will rejoice in the Lord.

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

6 thoughts on “Yet I will rejoice

  1. Good word Sheila. I need to be reminded of this often.

  2. Some of my favorite verses! I like your “updated” versions…thanks for sharing. And btw I LOVE your new blog and your focus…since I just don’t seem to be blogging much these days, I’m so inspired by yours 😉 Love you!

  3. I love those verses as well! I often personalize them too…our praise of the Lord should NOT be conditional, because He never changes.

  4. thank you so much for this!! I really needed this reminder today! ~ Heather http://www.livingonloveandcents.blogspot.com

  5. As I face a Monday morning at a job I despise, I rejoice in the Lord. I have so much to be thankful for, including this reminder. Thank you.

  6. Thanks guys! I love when what the Lord is showing me encourages others! You’re a blessing for telling me so!

Leave a Reply

