Summer came!

8 Comments

Lately it’s been really beautiful where I live– a soft breeze blows almost continuously through our open windows and the capris and shorts have been moved to the front of the closet.  I’ve giggled a few times at my neighbors exclaiming “Summer came!” since it’s only been in the low 80s and summer temperatures here reach up past 100 most days of July and August.

As much as I could do without the high heat of summer (especially being pregnant this summer!), I have amazing memories of warm summers as a child– catching fireflies, camping out, beach vacations, hosting a neighborhood carnival in our backyard…I can’t wait to share some of these things with my children.  Last summer I pointed out fireflies to Ladybug and helped her catch a few, I loved seeing her ooooo and aaaaah over these magic creatures!

What are your favorite summer activities with your children?

What summer fun are you most looking forward to?

Ladybug and Stinkbug: Summer 2009

It only takes a minute to play along, leave a comment answering today’s question– I’d love to hear your summery favorites!

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

8 thoughts on “Summer came!

  1. Just being outside as long as the sun is out! Playing in the sand box, pool, water sprinkler ball (obviously, NOT the technical term for that toy, lol), picnics outside, grilling out…outside outside outside!! 😉

  2. I actually don’t like summer at all….it’s way too hot and humid where I live. The mosquitoes make it impossible to enjoy anything outside.
    That said…all three of us have June birthdays and my hubby and I will celebrate 7 years of marriage in July. We have a romantic getaway planned in June for just the two of us….so yeah, I actually DO have some summer things to look forward to!

  3. My little boy and I live close to downtown. On hot summer evenings he rides his bike to main street and we sit on the bench and have ice cream and giggle. We love this.

  4. Waking up with the sun. Walking down the beach. surfing until there were no more waves. Coming back home to the best grilled steaks. Walking back to the beach and playing until the sun goes down. Go home, sleep, repeat.

Leave a Reply

