Distracted

2 Comments

We have been without Internet for about two weeks… Can I just say my dependence on Internet and other technology kinda makes me sick?

I kept thinking about how I needed to blog, and tweet, and update my Facebook, and email so-and-so, and post pictures for the kids’ grandparents, and call my mom (our phone runs through the Internet connection)…

Instead I worked on housework, played on the floor with my kids, and magically had time to read my Bible and pray each day!  Imagine that!

John Piper addresses TV and Internet in his book Don’t Waste Your Life, which is a great (and highly convicting read!)  This excerpt is taken from Chapter 7, Living to Prove He is More Precious Than Life:

Oh, how many lives are wasted by people who believe that the Christian life means simply avoiding badness and providing for the family. So there is no adultery, no stealing, no killing, no embezzlement, no fraud-just lots of hard work during the day, and lots of TV and PG-13 videos in the evening (during quality family time), and lots of fun stuff on the weekend-woven around church (mostly). This is life for millions of people. Wasted life. We were created for more, far more.

Television is one of the greatest life-wasters of the modern age. And, of course, the Internet is running to catch up, and may have caught up…A mind fed daily on TV diminishes. Your mind was made to know and love God. Its facility for this great calling is ruined by excessive TV. The content is so trivial and so shallow that the capacity of the mind to think worthy thoughts withers, and the capacity of the heart to feel deep emotions shrivels…

Wow!

You can read the whole chapter here, if you’d like. The entire book is free online: Don’t Waste Your Life.

How do you keep your TV and Internet time in check?

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

2 thoughts on “Distracted

  1. I definitely agree with Piper that the internet has probably caught up with tv. I waste WAY more time on the computer than in front of the tv these days. We don’t have a satellite any more, so I guess that has pretty much kept our tv watching in check, though it is amazing what you can sit and mindlessly watch and not even care about! For me, I don’t turn the tv on at all during the day anymore. We only have a tv in our bedroom, so I would turn it on when I was cleaning or something and then completely get caught watching something random. It’s just better for me not to even turn it on. Then we have 2 shows that Justin and I really enjoy watching, so we watch those on those nights. With the Olympics on, it’s an easy reminder of how quickly you can get drawn in to television. (so the tv watching has been bad lately)

    On the internet, I have tried to make it a habit to bookmark websites that I want to read but don’t need to spend time reading right then. It’s amazing how just reading blogs can interest you in another blog, then another, and then a whole hour has gone by! So I bookmark the pages, then MAYBE go back and read them later when I’ve done things that need to be done. (Honestly, I usually forget and just don’t read them!) It’s amazing what seems so important in that moment! A while back, I took about a month off from Facebook, and that really set that in perspective for me and tamed my Facebook usage! …It’s not easy to watch time on the internet for me. It’s definitely a distraction.

Leave a Reply

