Dating Your Spouse

2 Comments

Photo by Becca Fowler

I think date nights are so important.

My love language is quality time, so I desire quality time alone with my husband.  Really, it doesn’t matter to me what we are doing, I just want to be around him and have his attention– I have found that just watching TV together on the couch doesn’t fill up my love tank, since we’re not truly “being together”, we’re just sitting beside each other.

My husband and I have struggled in this area because date nights are so important to me, and although he says he desires to take me out, it hasn’t happened regularly.  He either doesn’t have the time and energy to plan nights out with me (I like when he plans the dates) , or we’re simply short on cash for the month.  (Since we’ve moved overseas we’ve also had the issue of a finding a babysitter.  We didn’t want to leave the kids with a stranger who didn’t even speak English, thereby eliminating most of our options!)

We are working on this aspect of our relationship.  It all began with me telling Hubby about my need for quality time alone with him.  (I might have mentioned it once or twice or seven hundred and twenty times…) and he has worked to make sure our budget allows for the cash we need to go out and hire a sitter.  We had a date night last weekend, and I feel so much healthier as a married couple just from getting away together for two and a half hours!

When’s the last time you dated your husband?

In the current common economic situation, I was trying to think of things we could do on our date nights that wouldn’t require a lot of money.  Here’s what I have so far:

  • Go for a long walk near a body of water. We live on a bay and it’s so pretty by the water– during the day there’s sun and boats, and in the evening you have the glittery city lights
  • Go out for dessert and coffee. Even if you get an expensive dessert, you’re still saving by not eating dinner out.
  • Go for a long drive in the country. We spent hours driving when we were waiting for Ladybug to be born.  We had such good conversations, listened to our favorite music, and saw lots of wildlife.
  • Have a date when the kids are in bed. Put the kids to bed, and then have a nice candlelit dinner at home.
  • Go out for lunch or breakfast. Who says dates have to be at night?

What do you suggest for great dates without great price?

Author: Sheila Stover

I'm a grace-loving, coffee-guzzling, overseas-living wife, mom, home school teacher and I process it all through writing when I can!

2 thoughts on “Dating Your Spouse

  1. Sometimes we go to Barnes and Noble, get coffee, grab a few magazines, and then find the cushy chairs. We sit together and read through magazines (kinds he likes AND kinds I like) and laugh!

    • Good idea, Mollie! I wish we had a B&N close by, I would totally invite Andrew to go with me this weekend! How do you walk out without buying a new book though? Books are so tempting to us! 😉

Leave a Reply

